Patriots Notes: Chad Johnson Comments, Wilfork Fined

I usually don’t pass along player comments, especially players from other teams, but this time it was different. I was looking forward to Chad Johnson trash talking, despite being a diehard Pats fan, because Chad is just a hilarious guy, who’s jokes are said with good intentions (cough, cough Ladainian cough Tomlinson cough). But when I saw Chad’s comments, I was surprised. Here is what he had to say regarding the team and the videotaping incident: “Tell Coach I said I love him, and that I’m looking forward to a great challenge. This is more than a football game. This is going to be a chess match. I don’t really think it’s between the players. This is a chess match for the coaches, who is going to make the right moves at the right time… That videotaping thing, it doesn’t matter. OK, say you do know the signals. You still have to go out and execute the defense. Forget that. Take the cameras away — you’re talking about a great football team that has great coaches. Throw that camera bull out the window. They’d be 3-0 right now regardless of that damn camera… They’re a great team offensively and defensively. They are a great team and there is a reason why they are where they are. It’s not because of no damn camera.” I think it just goes to show what type of guy Chad Johnson is. He is no Terrell Owens, he’s a classy guy with a sense of humor and a big ego. I like it. Could you imagine, a few years down the road, if the Patriots somehow got Chad, even if it is a monster contract?

Vince Wilfork was fined $12,000 by the league today after a late hit on J.P. Losman in Sunday’s game against Buffalo. Do I think it was fair? Of course. Although I think a majority of quarterback penalty calls are hurting the game, Wilfork’s hit was not cool. It looked like he purposely put his elbow into Losman’s lower leg.

Leave a Reply

