Maroney is NOT the Man… Who drank the Kool-Aid?

A couple of months back, I wrote an article titled, “Maroney is the Man.” Looking back two months later, it almost seems as if Maroney is NOT the man.

After successive injuries, Laurence Maroney missed back-to-back-to-back games. And since he came back, his role has been greatly diminished. Although he has scored his first two touchdowns of the season in back to back games, he hasn’t been getting the reps he is used to. Instead, he is getting limited carries, splitting time with Kevin Faulk.

Then, Sunday night against the Eagles, Maroney didn’t even take a snap in the first half. Not one! This came one week after getting only six carries after a mysterious ankle injury. So that brings up the question, why isn’t Maroney getting playing time?

After the game on Sunday, Belichick said that he runs the offense based on whatever will score him the most points. But lets be honest, how often do we buy into what Belichick has to say?

I’ve been wondering if Maroney could be in the dog house. There has been rumor that he hasn’t been running with all of his vigor, and I wonder if that could be a factor in his limited playing time.

Keep in mind that Laurence Maroney is one of my favorite players on the team. However, I am beginning to wonder if he is the running back of the future. I wonder if Belichick would prefer to limit his carries, and have him split time with somebody else, say, Darren McFadden.

If it was up to me, I would run Maroney 20 times a game, but the decision is up to Belichick, and it is starting to look like he doesn’t believe Maroney (aka Kool-Aid and Lomo) can fit that role.

4 Responses to Maroney is NOT the Man… Who drank the Kool-Aid?

  1. jakeJakeJAKE says:

    Perhaps Belichick wants to keep Lo Mo fresh for when we really need him, the postseason. If we can win without risking his health, why do it?

  2. Thank God its not up to you. Thats why blogers blog ,coaches coach, and I blow you up anytime I get a chance. In case your not familiar with the Pats offense, watch Hawaii play and you will get a better understanding of what the Pats are all about offensively. Also my thought is why put Maroney in a position to get hurt if you don’t have to. If Maroney has a serious injury this time of year than you would be going into the playoffs with Faulk, Evans etc. that would be ugly. I agree with you jakejakejake you know whats going on unlike some others!

  3. Greg says:

    I honestly have to disagree with you. While keeping Maroney fresh is a key, not using him at all will be worse to his health. If he isn’t getting reps in practices or games, and you plan on throwing him in for 20-25 carries in the playoffs, how do you think his body will respond? I’ll tell you. Stiffness, injury, and loss of stamina. Say the Patriots had the greatest running back of all time, never threw the ball, and decided to use a never used quarterback in the playoffs. That quarterback would be off target, erratic, and we wouldn’t win. I’m not saying run the ball with Laurence Maroney 20 times a game, I’m saying, keep him alive, don’t let him freeze. Giving your running back 15-17 carries a game isn’t a bad thing. Lastly, why would Belichick suddenly change his gameplan in the playoffs? I think Maroney is just fading from the offense. I think he may be in the dog house, and I was saying if I had the choice, I would make him part of the offense.

    By the way, he’s going to have a huge game tonight

  4. andrew says:

    RUN DMC – AKA Darren McFadden

Leave a Reply

