2008 Patriots Mock Draft Version 5.0

Well I’ve finally done it.  I told myself I would get through 5 versions of a mock draft, and I’ve actually done it.  I think it’s the first series I’ve finally followed through with.  I’m pretty psyched.

So it’s draft day.  6:30 AM.  I can’t sleep, I’m just too excited.  Lame, I know.  However, if you’ve read this blog over the years, you would know I’m a draft buff.  I’ll tell you, I’m more excited for the draft than I was for the Super Bowl.

Round 1, Pick 7: Brandon Albert, OG/OT

In the end, I say the Patriots trade out of this pick.  It could be down to 8 with the Ravens, or 13 with the Panthers.  I just don’t know.  But per Adam Schefter, the Patriots are considering either Brandon Albert or Keith Rivers.  I like Albert because I think he will be able to start immediately at right tackle, or at least right guard (Stephen Neal’s status is up in the air).

Vernon Gholston: If Gholston is around I still think he is the pick.  He’s so fast, so strong, so good.  I just think he has superstar potential.

Keith Rivers:  I would be happy with Rivers, but I just don’t think he is the best NATURAL talent at inside linebacker in the 3-4.

Darren McFadden: I think if McFadden falls to the Patriots, they end up taking him.  If they go by best player available, then McFadden will have to be the pick.  Or, imagine a trade scenario where McFadden falls, and we trade the pick to the Lions for #15 and a future first.

Sedrick Ellis: I REALLY want Ellis.  I think there is a good chance he is there.  If he is, I think he might just be a New England Patriot.

Aqib Talib: I had Talib going here for a while.  In the end, I don’t think the Patriots will take him here, but could in a trade down scenario.  Mark my words, Aqib Talib will be a multi-trip Pro Bowler who will change a defensive backfield for years to come.

Round 2, Pick 62: Terrell Thomas, CB, USC

Tall, fast, strong, physical.  Terrell Thomas is a guy who I think would fit great into the Patriots system.  He’s the prototype of what the Pats need in the defensive backfield, and the Patriots are very interested in him.

Round 3, Pick 69: Ray Rice, RB, Rutgers

If the Patriots draft Rice, I think he could be the perfect compliment to Laurence Maroney for years to come.  He doesn’t have the size (tell that to Maurice Jones-Drew), but he certainly has the skills.  He has soft hands, great agility, a quick burst through the hole, power, and most importantly, hunger.

Round 3, Pick 94: Bruce Davis, LB, UCLA

Yes, Bruce Davis was a defensive end for UCLA.  However, he will be an INSIDE LINEBACKER for a 3-4 team.  He is the perfect fit.  The Patriots are interested, and I want him on the team as much as anybody in this draft.  I would definately consider him at 69 too, and according to Davis himself, the Patriots are very interested.

Round 4, Pick 129: Dexter Jackson, WR, Appalachian State

Jackson is the fastest guy in the draft.  He runs great routes, makes good cuts, and seems to have soft hands.  He is flying up draft boards, and the Patriots are apparently interested.  I would love to see the Pats draft Jackson.

Round 5, Pick 164, Craig Stevens, TE, Cal

https://i2.wp.com/cache.daylife.com/imageserve/01ty0Ny6K5dz9/610x.jpg

Stevens fits a need at tight end.  He has soft hands, but more importantly, he is a great blocker, especially at the second level.  I’m not sure if the Patriots have interest, but Stevens would make sense.

Round 6, Pick 197: J Leman, ILB, Illinois

https://i2.wp.com/assets.espn.go.com/photo/2007/0829/ncf_g_leman_180.jpg

If you’ve followed this blog, you probably know that I like Leman a lot.  I think he could eventually be a force in the inside.  It will be interesting to see if the Patriots think so too.  I think he is a natural talent on the inside.  He’s aggresive, he’s smart, and he’s physical.  All characteristics for a 3-4 inside linebacker.

Round 7, Pick 238: D.J. Wolfe, SS, Oklahoma

I donn’t think safety is a need, but Wolfe may be able to develop into a rotation down the line.  We’ll see.  You really just don’t have any idea who will be around in round 7.

3 Responses to 2008 Patriots Mock Draft Version 5.0

  1. Chicago says:

    A good man would prefer to be defeated than to defeat injustice by evil means.

  2. Philadelphia says:

    Eat a third and drink a third and leave the remaining third of your stomach empty. Then, when you get angry, there will be sufficient room for your rage.

  3. SanDiego says:

    The most remarkable thing about my mother is that for thirty years she served the family nothing but leftovers. The original meal has never been found.

Leave a Reply

