Terrence Wheatley at 62

With the 62nd pick, the Patriots selected cornerback Terrence Wheatley.

The Patriots showed some interest in Wheatley coming in, but I don’t like this pick too much.  We could have easily gotten Wheatley in the third round, and probably the fourth round… but who am I to question Bill Belichick?

But still, I’m looking at who was there at defensive back, and I see Terrell Thomas, Charles Godfrey, Justin King, and Reggie Smith, all bigger, more physical corners.

Still, there are some things I like about Wheatley.  He is fast, and agile.  He closes out plays, and is good in run support.  However, he can still get pushed around, and has been injury prone.  Wheatley would probably project as a nickel back, but I don’t really see him as a starter

6 Responses to Terrence Wheatley at 62

  1. grak21 says:

    Im not a fan of the pick either , Many other CB ahead of him and could have waited on him with one of our 3rd round picks but i guess we always defer to the Pats front office

  2. Greg says:

    Rak, I agree with you 100%. I think that there were still several corners on the board who could have been starters, and possibly premiere starters. Especially Terrell Thomas. Thomas was a guy who I studied a lot, and I believe he has the potential to be a great, physical, top-end starter. The Patriots had a lot of interest in him, and I really thought he would be the pick.

    But I’m not too down. I love the three third round picks, especially with this draft. There are really some good players still available.

  3. Greg says:

    Bold Prediction: Patriots draft TE Jermichael Finley, Texas at #94

  4. The Patriots just got a QB. Kevin O Connell SDSU. They needed a backup but why take a qb this early. they could’ve gotton justin king from penn state

  5. Greg says:

    I was hoping for Justin King too. But O’Connell’s got talent, or rather, a lot of potential. He’s a raw prospect, he needs improvement in his throwing mechanics. But he’s got lots of natural talent. He can make every throw.

  6. Steve says:

    wheatley is ok but he wasn’t the best player on the board. greg, i agree with you, we shouldve taken terrell thomas

Leave a Reply

