2009 Final Patriots 7 Round NFL Mock Draft

Round 1, Pick 23: Darius Butler, CB, Connecticut

darius-butler-picButler’s name has been connected to the Patriots as of late, and I would not be the least bit surprised if the Patriots pulled the trigger on him if he was around at 23.  Butler has average size (just over 5-10), and is extremely fluid in coverage.  He has great closing speed and has even played a little receiver (9 receptions in ’08).

Round 2, Pick 34: Larry English, OLB, Northern Illinois

larry-english-picThis was a very hard decision for me between Larry English and Connor Barwin.  In the end, I went with English, because of his consistent production over the last three years at Northern Illinois.  Yeah, he isn’t the athletic and versatile freak that Barwin is, but he is a true pass rusher (and has proven he can defend the run), and that is exactly what the Patriots need.

Round 2, Pick 47: Jarron Gilbert, DE, San Jose State

jarron-gilbert-picI’m not sure Gilbert will be around at this pick, but if he is, he will be quite a steal.  With Richard Seymour, Jarvis Green, Vince Wilfork, and Le Kevin Smith all entering the final year of their contracts, adding talent to the defensive line is a dire need for the Patriots.  Gilbert is a freak athletically, and looks like he has the strength to defend both gaps in the 3-4.

Round 2, Pick 58: Andre Brown, RB, North Carolina State

andre-brown-picYeah, I see how some people will see how this pick is a reach considering Andre Brown health concerns, and the fact that he never topped 1000 yards in college.  I see those issues, and I think he can get by them.  If the Patriots believe his foot issues are behind him, I don’t think they will hesitate to snatch Andre Brown, who could be one hell of a steal if he lives up to his potential.

Round 3, Pick 89: Chip Vaughn, SS, Wake Forest

chip-vaughn-picThere’s a lot to like about Chip Vaugn.  He can play in the box and is great in run support, but is fast enough to be developed in coverage.  He can also be an impact special teams player, as he was the gunner for Wake Forest, and he also covered kicks.

Round 3, Pick 97: T.J. Lang, T, Eastern Michigan

tj-lang-picGreat character guy who gives full effort, is physical at the point of attack, and finishes his blocks 100% of the time.  He could be groomed to take over at either tackle position.

Round 4, Pick 124: Johnny Knox, WR, Abilene Christian

johnny-knox-picRuns in the 4.2’s, fluid, runs excellent routes.  Johnny Knox reminds me of a young Joey Galloway, and he could immediately make an impact on special teams as a returner, and could eventually be groomed to start in the slot or on the outside.

Round 5, Pick 170: John Phillips, TE, Virginia

john-phillips-picReminds me a little bit of a Kyle Brady with his blocking ability.  He has excellent size and strength, and although he lacks top-line speed for a tight end, he has nice hands, and drives his legs for every yard after the catch.

Round 6, Pick 199: Brian Hoyer, QB, Michigan State

brian-hoyer-picAt 199, the Tom Brady pick, a quarterback of course.  And a quarterback from a school in Michigan nonetheless.  Brian Hoyer is a smart, great character guy who doesn’t possess great arm strength, but is an accurate passer with adequate size.  But I really think that he could be a huge steal.

Round 6, Pick 207: Frantz Joseph, ILB, Florida Atlantic

frantz-joseph-picFrantz Joseph will take over as the 2-down run stuffing inside linebacker the Patriots need once Bruschi retires.  In my opinion, he is just the player the Patriots need, and it looks like he might actually be around at this point.

Round 7, Pick 234: Tony Fiammetta, FB, Syracuse

tony-fiammetta-pic

Not sure if he would be around at this point, but wouldn’t it be awfully nice if the Pats were able to get the true fullback they need in the seventh round, not to mention a natural leader like Fiammetta?

16 Responses to 2009 Final Patriots 7 Round NFL Mock Draft

  1. JTX says:

    Cool mock.

    I’m not that hot on Johnny Knox in the 4th round. I’ve never heard of the guy, but I’ll trust you.

    Still, if a Brandon Gibson or an Aaron Kelly is on the board, you wouldn’t fall for that?

  2. Grogan Fan says:

    Give me Maualuga, Lauranaitis, or Cushing at 23.

    And don’t draft the injury waiting to happen in Andre Brown at 58.

  3. m13swanny says:

    I say OLB at 23 Ayers or even Pettigrew, 34 Gilbert, then WR. I think you nailed it from then on except Hoyer. He’d be good value, but O’Connell is a very talented quarterback. Whenever Belichick goes with combine guys he seems to miss.

  4. Give me Maualuga, Lauranaitis, or Cushing at 23.

    AMEN!

    Maualuga, Lauranaitis

    • Greg says:

      Hmm I don’t think that Lauranaitis is a system fit for the Patriots. He is a great player, one of the most consistent and productive linebackers in the history of college football. However, I believe he is a better fit for the 4-3.

  5. B says:

    nice draft. cant wait for the actual thing to go down.

    why didn’t you take a safety? Do you think that none of them are worth it this year?

    i like butler, but trading up for jenkins would be great too.

  6. B says:

    what i meant to ask, is why vaughn over moore/chung/delmas?

    • Greg says:

      When all is said and done, I think it is down to Chung, maybe Moore, and Vaughn for the Patriots.

      If the Patriots believe Vaughn will be there at 89, it allows them to address other needs first.

      Another reason I chose Vaughn is because I believe the Patriots need a young inside-the-box strong safety to replace Rodney Harrison. That is Vaughn’s specialty, but he even has the speed to be groomed in coverage. Not to mention, he served as a gunner on special teams for Wake Forest, and he could be a core special teams player from day 1.

      And I’m with you, I’d prefer Michael Jenkins over Darius Butler, and I think trading up for Jenkins is a definite possibility.

  7. SED says:

    Nice mock draft Greg. I think the Pats will draft two maybe 3 players out of the first two rounds. History shows that they’ll probably trade a couple away for either future picks or a trade up in the draft.

    I would say the Pats trade two second rounders for a late first rounder. They’ll grab Darius Butler, Connor Barwin, and Ziggy Hood as their first 3 picks.

    Word out there is that Laurinitis and English are going to be picked up a lot earlier than most expect.

    Also the three USC LB’s: Maualuga,Cushing, and Matthews haven’t even been looked at by the Pats. There is no way they’re going to be picked.

  8. r1zzo23 says:

    Great looking mock and can’t wait for Saturday!

    Personally, I’m not really ready to draft a CB first round this season. Maybe I should be, but with Springs, Bodden, Hobbs, Wheatley and Wilhite on board, I don’t think it is a pressing need for us. With that said, Springs could be a one-year stop gap that needs to be replaced, so I could see the logic with Butler.

    As for Larry English, I think I’ve fallen in love with Barwin’s athleticism and versatility (basically I’m thinking another tenure with Vrabel) that I’m almost hating on English to a fault just so we take Barwin. If both are on the board, whichever one Bill takes will most likely be the best for the team.

    I was also very sour on taking a DE because I love who we have, but have realized that Seymour is getting older and could be looking to cash in after this season. Gilbert and Jarvis Green could platoon next year if we weren’t able to retain Seymour, so that would be a good pick.

    Andre Brown, I’m not so big on. Sure, it would be nice to have a bruising back, but I think taking one with injury history would not be a smart pick. We are already frustrated with Maroney’s injuries, so that kind of scares me away.

    From Chip Vaughn on, I love your picks and I know you have a man crush on Frantz Joseph. I’ll trust you and believe that Joseph would be a great Bruschi replacement, especially that late in the draft.

  9. SED says:

    The word on SI.com is that the Pats are looking to trade into the top 10. They are offering the 23rd and 47th picks. It looks like the trade partners could be the Jags or the Packers.

  10. DWC says:

    I go to Florida-Atlantic and i’m praying the Pats use a pick on Frantz. He’ll be on ESPN’s OTL @ 8AM on Sunday. He was our entire defense and we are going to miss him here at FAU.

  11. boiler_up says:

    why not aaron kelly? i like him. he has good size and speed and plus he would a 4th round risk but if a 4th round is a bust, who cares?

    • Greg says:

      I agree. Aaron Kelly is one of my binkies in this draft. I just wanted to get Knox’s name out there, because he is a very intriguing prospect as well.

Leave a Reply

