My Interview With Casey Tyler

May 1, 2008

Earlier this week, I was fortunate enough to be able to interview Patriots’ rookie defensive lineman Casey Tyler.  It’s my first player interview (in fact, I think I’m one of the first blogs to get one), and I thought I’d share it with everyone.

Congrats!  You’re in the NFL.  What were your initial thoughts when the Patriots gave you that call?

The first thought that came to my mind was one of relief but the first word that came to mind was, FINALLY.  After watching the entire draft and receiving all the different phone calls, I am finally a Patriot. 

Media writers can say all they want about what the draft process is like.  But you had to go through it, and coming from a smaller schol, you had to work that much harder.  And it paid off.  You’ve got an NFL contract.  What was the process like?  Are you relieved that it’s over?  What was the best part?  What was the toughest?  Were you expecting to be drafted?
I was not expecting to be drafted, just hoping.  You know a team is that much more interested in you if you get drafted, but either way you have just as a legit shot to compete for a job as a free agent like myself.  The process for me was tough, I really had to grow up and make some lifetime decisions such as the interview process of different agents and deciding what team to sign with.  But putting the amount of trust that I did into my agent i think we found a team that I could fit in really well with.

What skillset do you bring to the Patriots?  You were a very productive player at Portland State, what did you bring to them, and what will you carry to the NFL?
In college, I felt I was a productive run stopper.  I worked well with my fellow defensive teammates communicating and learning their styles of play so that we could work off of each other.   I also feel that I had a good sense of leadership among our defense pumping other player up when they were having a down game and helping people play to their fullest potential. 

Have you ever played in a 3-4 system?  Do you think you will be an end or a nosetackle?
I was able to learn the 3-4 system last year and play defensive end, which I think would be the best fit for me on the patriots.   I have also had the opportunity to play the 4-3 as well and personally even though you are one d-lineman short, I like the 3-4 much better because it gives you more room to work inside.

What’s it like to know that you are going to play for a team rich in winning in the Patriots?
It is always a positive to be playing for a winning team but I am happy to continue being a part of any team and staying competitive.  The Pats have always been my favorite team to watch, so I hope one day I can watch film of myself in a Pats jersey.

Are you excited to play alongside guys like Richard Seymour, Vince Wilfork, and Ty Warren?  What do you think you can learn from those guys?
Those are some big names.  3 of the best D-lineman in the league.  They hold so much experience and knowledge of the game.  I have already begun studying all three of their styles.  I look forward to meeting them and learn some tricks of the trade.

Again, congratulations on being signed by the Patriots and I hope to have contact with you in the future.  Good luck at rookie camp, I wish you the best in making the team.